How I feel about moving to Canada

Hey folks. My life has been insanely busy lately, what with organising my departure from Wellington, my interim stay in Tauranga, and my imminent arrival to Vancouver.  If I have to pack ONE MORE SUITCASE I think I’m gonna cry – either from exhaustion or from the sudden realisation of what I’m about to do. I’m flying out on Saturday which gives me around 3 more days to sort my life out, say bye to my fam, and buckle in for the ride of my life (so poetical). Who would’ve thought there was so much to organise to simply move to another country (it’s simply not that simple)? Thanks to this big move, I’m really beginning to master this ‘being an adult’ thing – sorting out insurance, bank stuff, flights, visa, work… just call me the Mr Miyagi of adulting.

That being said, there’s a couple of things I need to get off my mind – one good and one bad – so bear with (get it, because there’s bears in Canada? Really on form today).

Firstly, the cold. This is bad. I CANNOT DEAL with cold. For the past 3 years, I’ve spent my winters in Auckland, which usually averages around 14.5 degrees during the day. To me, it feels like Antarctica, and I cannot leave the house without turning into a walking icicle unless I have 5 layers of clothing on and a warm cuppa coffee in my frozen wee hands. So now, moving to a city where the average temperature is currently 7 DEGREES and SNOWING overnight, I don’t know how I’ll possibly survive. Maybe I’ll turn into a snowman and be the next Olaf in Frozen. Or maybe I’ll turn into an ice statue and be discovered by archeologists 1,000s of years into the future. Or maybe I’m totally exaggerating and I’ll actually be fine. We’ll soon find out.

Next up: a good thing. It’s something I’m so excited about and have been dreaming of since I was a kid… the outdoor adventure. Canada, like New Zealand, is well known for its scenic beauty and extreme sports. From snowboarding and skiing in the winter to hiking and mountain biking in the summer, it’s got it all, and I cannot WAIT to experience what Vancouver & beyond have to offer. My initial to-do list is cycling around Stanley Park and snowboarding on Grouse Mountain. After that, it’s an open book… I’m spoilt for choice.

All in all, I think that the idea of a new, beautiful, adventurous country waiting to be explored far outweighs the cold (and possibility of turning into a human ice block). Follow along if you want – I’ll keep you updated on my whereabouts, the ins and outs of moving to Canada, and my general outlook on life overseas.

T-3 days pals. Hold ya breath. This Laura is about to fly the nest.

Leave a Reply

